Category Archives: 2012

“The Royal Family” To Replace “Cat On A Hot Tin Roof”

Iowa City Community Theatre is not able to get the rights to Cat On A Hot Tin Roof due to a run on Broadway. Although this is very disappointing, we have decided to do The Royal Family by George S. Kaufman and Edna Ferber. This is a comedy with great style and panache and many wonderful roles. Auditions are January 5, 2013 from 2:30-5:00 PM, and Monday January 7, 2013 from 6:30-9:00 PM Auditions will be held at the Iowa City Public Library, Room A. Prepared piece is welcome but not necessary. Scripts will be available in the IC Public Library as soon as they arrive from the Publisher.

A thinly-veiled portrait of the legendary Barrymores, another renowned “Royal Family of Broadway”, the Cavendish clan comprises three generations of legendary American actors: dowager Fanny Cavendish, widow of the premier actor of his day, who at seventy is planning an upcoming tour; brother Herbert, a histrionic player now in his decline; Fanny’s daughter Julie, at the height of her Broadway fame, and son Tony who has forsaken the stage for Hollywood. Heralding the third generation of players, Julie’s daughter Gwen is just beginning a promising ingenue career. When Tony rushes home only to flee to Europe, escaping the attentions of a Polish movie star and Gwen shocks the family by marrying a “non-professional”, it seems the Cavendish name and reputation is threatened. Through it all, Fanny rules with a combination of strength, wit, courage, and a sharp tongue, proving that the “show” indeed, “must (and will) go on.”

There are roles for 11 men and 6 women.

It’s Only 10 Days Away!

Twelve Angry Men Cast List

The audition turnout for “Twelve Angry Men” was tremendous. 43 men auditioned last weekend. That’s 3.58 men for each role. Wow! It’s wonderful to see so much interest. 

The cast of “Twelve Angry Men”

FOREMAN – Gavin Conkling
JUROR TWO – Brett Borden
JUROR THREE – Luis A. Sierra
JUROR FOUR – Jaret Morlan
JUROR FIVE – Stephen Stonebraker
JUROR SIX – Monty Beal
JUROR SEVEN – Eric Burchett
JUROR EIGHT – Rip Russell
JUROR NINE – Austin Wedemeyer
JUROR TEN – John Bednarik
JUROR TWELVE – Jeff Emrich

The production team…

Director – Kehry Anson Lane
Assistant Director – Michael Kammerer
Stage Manager – Richard Beebe
Set Design/Build – Michael Blake
Light Design – Rebekah Oulton
Costume Design – Noel Vandenbosch
ICCT Board Liaison – Brenda Christner